Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

  2022 WAFCON: Waldrum invites 32 players for Morocco camp

Super Falcons head coach Randy Waldrum has invited 32 players for a two-week training camp in Morocco ahead of the 12th Women Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) which will hold from July 2 to 23.

According to  the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), the training camp would start on June 18 in the North African kingdom, with all players already advised to arrive in Rabat on June 17.

Among those Waldrum listed for the camping exercise include Asisat Oshoala who has just emergedb top scorer of the Spanish Women’s Primera Division with 20 goals to her credit, Onome Ebi, Francisca Ordega, Ashleigh Plumptre and Rasheedat Ajibade.

Others are Chiamaka Nnadozie, Tochukwu Oluehi, Rita Chikwelu, Desire Oparanozie and Uchenna Kanu.

The Falcons, who are the reigning African champions, are in Group C alongside South Africa, Botswana and Burundi at this year’s WAFCON in Morocco.

The top four teams will qualify for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and two more teams will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.

Below is a parade of the Randy Waldrum 32 for Morocco camping:

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC, France); Tochukwu Oluehi (Maccabi Kishronot Hadera, Israel); Rita Akarekor (Nasarawa Amazons); Yewande Balogun (Coppermine United, USA)

Defenders: Opeyemi Sunday (Edo Queens); Glory Ogbonna (Santa Teresa FC, Spain); Onome Ebi (En Avant Guingamp, France); Osinachi Ohale (Deportivo Alaves, Spain); Ugochi Emenayo (Konak Belediyespor Izmir, Turkey); Ashleigh Plumptre (Leicester City, England); Nicole Payne (West Virginia University, USA); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Akudo Ogbonna (Edo Queens)

Midfielders: Peace Efih (Kiryat Gat, Israel); Amanda Uju Mbadi (Atasehir Belediyespor, Turkey); Halimatu Ayinde (Eskilstuna FC, Sweden); Charity Adule (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Toni Oyedupe Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain); Regina Otu (Minsk FC, Belarus); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid, Spain); Rita Chikwelu (Madrid CFF, Spain); Suliat Abideen (Edo Queens)

READ ALSO Eagles stars set for history as Rangers roll back the years

Forwards: Anam Imo (Pitea IF, Sweden); Francisca Ordega (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Desire Oparanozie (Wuhan Chegu Jianghan, China); Vivian Ikechukwu (WFC Gintra, Lithuania); Chinonyerem Macleans (GSK Gornik Leczna, Poland); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Meizhou Hakka Club, China); Ifeoma Onumonu (NY/NJ Gotham FC, USA); Uchenna Kanu (Tigres Femenil, Mexico); Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona, Spain)

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.