Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

37 schools for 16th Doregos Basketball Championships 

After 15 years of staging the annual inter-school basketball championship, more schools have continued to identify with the Doregos Basketball Championships as 37 schools will be competing at the 16th edition which dunks off on October 19 with preliminary round.

The competition will also have seven schools participating for the first time. St Finbar’s College, Yaba is among the seven new schools for the 2019 edition with bright hopes for a victory. Schools like, Cedec School, Hallifield School in Maryland, The Thames Valley College, Rainbow College and Hallmark College in Ikorodu are also part of the new participating schools.

Speaking at the press briefing to herald the 16th edition, Head of School, Doregos Private Academy, Adebisi Adegbulugbe stressed that all arrangement have been put in place to ensure a hitch-free tournament.

Four zones will host the preliminaries which will kick off on October 19. The zones include; zone 1-Doregos Private Academy, zone 2- Queens College, Yaba, zone 3-Kawefunmi Private College, Sagamu and Greensprings School, Lagos.

Read Also: Sunday Dare Appoints Ex-Athlete Mary Onyali As Special Adviser

Also, Coach of International School Lagos (ISL), who are the boys’ defending champion, Ijeomah Ernest, believes they are capable of retaining the title this year while other teams have vowed to halt ISL’s dominance.

You might also like