Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

CAF Awards 2019: Oshoala picks Nigeria’s only prize

. Cameroon pip Nigeria to best national team

Super Falcons captain Asisat Oshoala claimed Nigeria’s only award during Tuesday’s CAF awards in Cario, Egypt.

The Barcelona forward emerged the 2019 African Women’s Player of the Year after seeing off Ajara Nchout of Cameroon and South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana, who claimed the prestigious award in Senegal last year.

Interestingly, the 25-year-old Oshoala claimed the title for the fourth time after winning the award in 2014, 2016 and 2017.

Equally, the Falcons forward was also among the final three in 2018, but could not get past South Africa’s Kgatlana.

Moments after the award was made public, Oshoala took to Twitter to applaud her family and friends, alongside  fans and colleagues locally and internationally for their support.

Read Also: CAF awards: Mane claims Africa’s best player for 2019

Meanwhile, Cameroon women’s national team saw off Nigeria’s Super Falcons, to emerge Women’s National Team of the Year at the CAF awards 2019.

On the other hand, South Africa’s coach Diseree Ellis emerged  Women’s African Coach of the Year after beating ex-Falcons coach Thomas Dennerby and Alain Djeumfa (Cameroon) to win the award.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More