Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

CAF Awards: Ikpeba reveals why Eagles stars are missing out

Super Eagles

Ex-Super Eagles forward Victor Ikpeba insists Nigerian players must play in big clubs to get back into reckoning for CAF Awards.

The last time a Nigerian player won the African Footballer of the YearAward was in 1999 by Nwankwo Kanu.

View this post on Instagram

Great team performance. Weldone guys!

A post shared by Nigeria Super Eagles (@ng_supereagles) on

Ikpeba won the award himself in 1997 after helping Monaco win the French Ligue 1 title that same year.

He however admitted that Nigerian players must take up the challenge of playing in big clubs in Europe to be in contention for CAF Awards.

“Nigerian players must play at the top level in Europe. They have to take up the challenge themselves,”

The former Borussia Dortmund player went further by revealing why Eagles’ stars have failed to win the award in recent years.

“Our players have found it difficult to win the African footballer of the year award because most of them are no longer playing for big clubs in Europe.

View this post on Instagram

Training 🦅🦅 #SoarSuperEagles #Team9jaStrong

A post shared by Nigeria Super Eagles (@ng_supereagles) on

Read Also: Iheanacho opens up on goalscoring secret

“When I mean the big clubs in Europe, I’m talking about those clubs that are winning titles in their respective leagues as well as doing very well in the Champions League.”

“Good individual performances for club and national team is important, but without a big club in Europe to back up such performances, it will be difficult for Nigerian players to win it,” Ikpeba summed up.

You might also like