Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

Carabao Cup 2022/23: Seventy teams to open first round 

Carabao Cup


The draw for the first round of the 2022/23 Carabao Cup has been made with Sheffield Wednesday pitched against Sunderland.

At this stage of the competition, 70 teams will enter, with 22 teams from the Championship, 24 from League One and 24 from League Two.

The remaining two Championship teams enter in the second round, along with 13 Premier League clubs.

Norwich are the only relegated Premier League side to feature in the draw and Dean Smith’s men will face Birmingham at Carrow Road during the week commencing August 10. That fixture is one of four all-Championship match-ups.’

READ ALSO Carabao Cup fallout: ​Liverpool boss Klopp tags Kelleher as ‘best No2 in the world’

Sheffield Wednesday vs Sunderland is one of the most eye-catching fixtures from the draw, which was completed live on Sky Sports News on Thursday, while Stockport face fellow League Two side Harrogate in their first appearance in the Carabao Cup in a decade.

Meanwhile, Ipswich will face off against local rivals Colchester for just the eighth time since 1969.

Liverpool won the 2021/22 Carabao Cup  the ninth time in the club’s history  beating Chelsea 11-10 on penalties after the initial 90 minutes and extra-time had finished goalless.


You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More