Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

FIFA to name 2023 Women world cup host on Thursday

fifa to name women world cup host 2023

World Soccer Ruling body FIFA is to name hosts of the 2023 Women’s world cup on Thursday.

The FIFA council is billed to have a virtual meeting on Thursday with decision on the hosting of the next women’s world cup top on the agenda.

The global body will have to vote between Colombia and joint bid from Australia and New Zealand. The later looks top favorite even as Japan announced her withdrawal from the hosting bid on Monday.

The Japanese bid was one of three, along with Colombia and a joint bid from Australia and New Zealand.

Earlier this month, FIFA rated the joint Australia/New Zealand bid as the best to host the tournament, with Japan in second place.

Also this month football power house Brazil withdrew her candidacy to host the 2023 Women’s World Cup, citing financial fears in the wake of the corona virus pandemic.

Japan won the world cup in 2011 defeating hot favorites USA in the final

The Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) said the government did not consider it wise to offer financial guarantees asked for by FIFA at this time. Brazil however joined the other South American nations in support Colombia. The odds however favour the joint bid by Australia and New Zealand.

The 2019 tournament in France, won by the US, broke records with television audiences and was seen as the most high-profile tournament so far.

Read AlsoBrazil withdraws bid to host 2023 Women’s world cup

 Japan won the women’s world cup in 2011 defeating hot favorites United States in the final.

The United States are the highest winners of the FIFA women’s world cup having won a record four times, 1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019.

You might also like