Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

France 2018: Falcons begin shape up with 4-nation tourney


Nine time African Champions Super Falcons will on Thursday file out against hosts China in the four nation tournament as part of their shape up programs ahead of the world cup in France.

The match billed for Meizhou Olympic Sports Center in Wuhua will be the second match of the day coming after Korea Republic and Romania would have flagged off the competition in the first match.

The Thomas Dennerby tutored side who  are expected to touch down later today (Tuesday) in China left the shores of the country Monday afternoon aboard Egypt Air and would be expected to use Wednesday for light training and  rest after close to 15 hours 55minutes flight. The delegation is made up of 16 players and nine officials.

“Four players , defender Faith Michael, midfielder Rita Chikwelu  forwards Ini-Abasi Umotong and Chinaza Uchendu according to NFF director of communication Demola Olajire ,will fly direct to China from Europe to join the team

The names of three time African woman player of the year Dalian Quanjian of China forward Assisat Oshoala and France based Disire Oparanozie were however missing from the list. Although Super Falcons won the Nations cup in Ghana beating South Africa to the title many believe that their quality of play remained below par and would need a lot of boosting before the World cup in June.

The Four Nations Tournament is an invitational women’s football tournament taking place in various cities of China since 1998. Since 2002, it has been held every year except for 2010. United States, Norway, China, North Korea, and Canada are the only winners of various editions of this tournament. The United States has been the most successful, winning seven editions of the tournament; with China winning six editions and Norway winning two editions. Nigeria is the only African nation to feature in the tournament.

Full List

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi; Christy Ohiaeriaku and Chiamaka Nnadozie

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna; Faith Michael; Onome Ebi; Osinachi Ohale; Ugochi Emenayo and Josephine Chukwunonye

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo; Ngozi Okobi-Okeoghene; Rita Chikwelu and Halimat Ayinde

Forwards: Anam Imo; Rasheedat Ajibade; Francisca Ordega; Chinaza Uchendu; Chinwendu Ihezuo; Ini-Abasi Umotong and Alice Ogebe.

You might also like