Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

Man City get £38.4m for winning Premier League

Manchester City has earned £38.4m as prize money for winning the premier league title.

City finished the season on 98 points after defeating Brighton 4-1 on the final day of the campaign on Sunday to retain the title.

Runners up, Liverpool who beat Wolves at Anfield went home with £36.5m.

Every year, the Premier League’s prize money is divided among the 20 participating clubs – with each side taking home an equal share of £80.4 million no matter where they finished in the league.

The rest is decided on where your team finished and, ultimately, how well they did in comparison to their opponents.

Read Also: How Ruthless Manchester City Survived Scare to Retain EPL Title

Each team also has an opportunity to earn TV revenue on top of that, where hosting live games earns your side more money.

Premier League prize money

20. Huddersfield Town – £1.9m

19. Fulham – £3.8m

18. Cardiff City – £5.8m

17. Brighton – £7.7m

16. Southampton – £9.6m

15. Burnley – £11.5m

14. Bournemouth – £13.4m

13. Newcastle United – £15.4m

12. Crystal Palace – £17.3m

11. Watford – £19.2m

10. West Ham United – £21.1m

9. Leicester City – £23.1m

8. Everton – £25m

7. Wolves – £26.9m

6. Manchester United – £28.8m

5. Arsenal – £30.7m

4. Tottenham Hotspur – £32.6m

3. Chelsea – £34.6m

2. Liverpool – £36.5m

1. Manchester City – £38.4m

You might also like