Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

Musa, Quadri, Diogu nominated for 2018 Nigerian Sports Award

Super Eagles stand-in captain, Ahmed Musa; ITTF African Champion, Aruna Quadri and D’Tiger captain, Ike Diogu have been nominted for the Sportsman of the Year for the 2018 Nigerian Sports Award (NSA).

At a press briefing held in Lagos yesterday, the Chairman of NSA panel, Dr. Kweku Tandoh announced nominees for the different categories including Footballer of the Year, Team Sports Person of the Year, Track & Field Star of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Sports Administrator of the Year amongst others.


Tandoh who was highly excited about the massive response of the public towards nominations which opened on Wednesday, May 23 and closed Sunday, October 7, expressed delight that the award was moving a notch higher considering the number of nominations received this year – over two million nominations.

For the Sportswoman of the Year, Commonwealth gold medalist – Odunayo Adekuoroye, D’Tigress’ Evelyn Ekhator and Bobsled’s Simisola Adeagbo made the final cut in the category.

Speaking further on the process for selection of the nominees, Tandoh noted that the final selection of nominees was concluded on Tuesday October 9 by all award panel members after a careful scrutiny of the nominations entries received. “We are quite excited that public interest on the award has grown significantly given the number of nominations received this year for the awards. For us, we have taken time to look at the nominees for the different categories and I can proudly say that the nominees selected for the categories deserve to be winners by all standards,” he said.

Speaking on the voting process for this year’s edition of the award, Executive Director of NSA, Kayode Idowu revealed that voting for the shortlisted nominees in all 14 categories of the award opened yesterday, October 10, 2018 and ends on Sunday, November 11, 2018

Other award categories to be voted for include Racket Sports Person of the Year, Basketball Player Of the Year, Para Sports Person Of The Year, Team of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Wrestler of the Year, Coach of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year and Sportsman of the Year.

The award ceremony for the 2018 Nigerian Sports Award is scheduled to hold at the Eko Convention Centre, Eko Hotel & Suite on Friday, November 16, 2018.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More