Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

NNL side Bayelsa United pip Nasarawa to claim historic Aiteo Cup

Nigeria National League (NNL) side Bayelsa United will represent Nigeria in next year’s CAF Confederation Cup after they defeated favourites Nasarawa United in the Aiteo Cup final Sunday.

May be an image of 6 people and people standing

The former Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) champions Bayelsa United pipped Nasarawa United 4-3 on penalties after fulltime scores stood at 2-2 inside the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.

Chinedu Ohanachom and Aliyu Abdullahi netted for Nasarawa United, while Okardi Inikurogha and Emo James scored for Yenagoa-based outfit.

May be an image of 16 people and people standing

In the penalty shootout, NPFL joint top scorer, Silas Nwankwo, failed to net from six yard to make a first time win for Bayelsa United in the cup competition.

May be an image of 6 people and people standing

Read Also: Japan team says medal haul won public support for Olympics

Interestingly, Nasarawa United will be the fourth Premier League club Bayelsa United defeated in the competition after overcoming the likes of Enugu Rangers, Kano Pillars and Lobi Stars.

Bayelsa Queens also claimed the women’s version of the competition courtesy of a 4-2 victory over FC Robo of Lagos.

You might also like