Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

NTTF name 10 for Commonwealth T/Tennis Championships

The Nigeria Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) has confirmed the participation of 10 athletes in the forthcoming 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships holding in Odisha, India, from July 17 to July 22.

Commonwealth T/Tennis Championships
Jide Omotayo

The NTTF Secretary, James Eakyns, told News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Friday that the players were conversant with international tournaments and in good preparations to represent the nation at the championships.

Eakyns gave the names of the Commonwealth bound-athletes in the male category which comprised of foreign-based as Omotayo Olajide, Abiodun Bode, Jamiu Azeez, Solanke Azeez and Ayanwale Jumiu with Bello Nasiru NTTF national coach.

He said the female players were Edem Offiong, Akpan Cecilia, Ojomu Ajoke, Oribamise Tosin and Aregbeshola Nimota to be accompanied by Bello Nosiru under supervision of coach Ifeoma Isaac.

“Our participation in the championships is sure, athletes are on ground and coaches assigned to the male and female categories are presently doing the needful to tidy up preparations.

“Among the athletes are regular participants in international tournaments which has provided enabling environment for the much needed exposure to compete as expected in the championships,” he said.

He said that the team would depart the country on July 16 would to compete in the singles, mixed doubles and team events in the six-day championships which holds in Jawaharlal Indoor Stadium in Cuttack.

Read Also:Age-cheat is killing junior table tennis in Africa, says Tunisia coach

NAN reports that Nigeria will feature alongside host India, Singapore, Malaysia, Scotland, Bangledesh, Sri Lanka, Australia, Cyprus, Pakistan and South Africa would feature in the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI) hosted championships. (NAN)

You might also like