Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

Olympic Qualifier: Imama begins preparation, invites 33 players


National U-23 coach Imama Amapakabo, has flagged off his preparation for qualifiers leading to the 2020 Olympics in Japan with invitation of 33 players to Abuja camp on Wednesday.

The Under 23 side, have a date with their Libyan counterparts in Tunisia between March 20 and 22 with a return leg in Nigeria scheduled for 25th/26th March.

Nigeria are the defending champions of the Africa U-23 Cup of Nations, having defeated Algeria in the final of the second edition of the championship staged by Senegal in December 2015. The feat saw Nigeria pick a ticket to the 2016 Olympics in Rio where she won Bronze.

Egypt hosts of the African cup of Nations incidentally will also host the 3rd Africa U23 Cup of Nations, 8 November and 22 November, 2019.

Amapakabo who led Rangers international to their last league title is being assisted in his new assignment by Kennedy Boboye (Assistant Coach), Fidelis Ilechukwu (Assistant Coach) and Etta Egbe (Goalkeepers’ Trainer).

Below is the list of players invited to camp:

Goalkeepers: Amos Benjamin (Bayelsa United); Makanjuola Adewale (Ekiti United); Anozie Chinedu (FC IfeanyiUbah); Stanley Nwabili (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: John Lazarus (Lobi Stars); Chidera Eze (Rangers International); Anumudu Udochukwu (Lobi Stars); Austin Ugochukwu (Kano Pillars); Chinedu Ajana (Katsina United); Kehinde Adeyemi (Sunshine Stars); Ndah Olisah (Remo Stars); Chinwendu Ali (Yobe Stars); Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars)

Midfielders: Ayobami Junior (Shooting Stars); Isah Ndala (Nasarawa United); William Ukeme (Wikki Tourists); Olatunji Matthew (Enyimba FC); Seth Mayi (Plateau United); Yusuf Maigoro (Kano Pillars); Iwuala Anayo (Kada City); Cletus Emotan (Rivers United); Chigozie Obasi (Sunshine Stars); Chukwudi Agor (ASJ, Owerri)

Forwards: Etiboy Akpan (Akwa United); Anas Mohammed (Shooting Stars); Chijoke Alaekwe (FC IfeanyiUbah); Shamman Tanze (Kano Pillars); Agboola Joshua (Katsina United); Wari Williams (Nasarawa United); Ebuka Okeke (Lamray United); Tolu Ojo (Remo Stars); Wasiu Alalade (Enyimba FC); Solomon Nsude (FC IfeanyiUbah)




You might also like

Leave a Reply

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By :