Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

Premier League: Hazard Shines with Playmaker Award

Golden Glove Winner

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker won the Golden Glove after the most clean sheets

Golden Glove winner Alisson stat breakdown for season:

  • Clean Sheets: 21
  • Goals Conceded: 22
  • Saves: 76
  • Saves percentage: 77.1%
  • Penalties faced: 1
  • Penalties saved: 0

 *Stats courtesy of Opta

Premier League Playmaker Award

Top 10 Assists – EPL 2018/19

  1. Eden Hazard – 15
  2. Ryan Fraser – 14
  3. Christian Eriksen – 12
  4. Trent Alexander-Arnold – 12
  5. Andrew Robertson – 11
  6. Leroy Sane – 10
  7. Raheem Sterling – 10
  8. Callum Wilson – 9
  9. Paul Pogba – 9
  10. Mohamed Salah  – 8

This year the award went to Eden Hazard after accumulating 16 assists throughout 2018/19 season with last year’s winner being Man City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne with 16 assists.

The Premier League playmaker award was introduced last year to award the league player to acquire the most assists in a season.

Playmaker winner Eden Hazard stat breakdown for season:

  • Assists: 15
  • Goals: 16
  • Chances created (inc. assists): 98
  • Passes: 1819
  • Passing accuracy: 84.3%

 * Stats courtesy of Opta

Premier League Season Awards

There are three season awards that are judged by a Premier League panel made up of legends Alan Shearer, Ian Wright, Jamie Carragher and more.

The public vote also makes up 10% of the total votes in each category and will combined with the panel (plus captains for the player award).

Here are the season awards:

  • EA Sports’ Player of the Season
  • Carlings’ Goal of the Season
  • Barclays’ Manager of the Season

Player of the Season Award

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk crowned EA Sport's Player of the Season

Virgil van Dijk won this seasons EA Sport’s Player of the Season award after votes from Premier League panel, peers (20 club captains) and the public saw the Liverpool defender become the third defender to receive the award after Nemanja Vidic and Vincent Kompany.

The Dutch defender has already picked up the PFA Player of the Year award and replicates Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah who picked up both awards last season.

Player of the Season winner Virgil van Dijk stat breakdown:

  • Goals: 4
  • Assists: 2
  • Chances created (inc. assists): 7
  • Passes: 3037
  • Passing accuracy: 89.7%
  • Tackles: 38
  • Tackles Won: 28
  • Clean Sheets: 20
  • Blocks: 18
  • Clearances: 199

Here were the nominees:

  • Sergio Aguero
  • Eden Hazard
  • Sadio Mane
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Bernardo Silva
  • Raheem Sterling
  • Virgil van Dijk

Goal of the Season Award

The Carling award was first introduced  in 2016/17 season in which Emre Can won the award as Liverpool midfielder for an overhead kick goal against Watford. It was then won last year by Sofiane Boufal for his solo effort goal for Southampton.

The goal of the season is selected from the shortlist of monthly winners plus any outstanding strikes in May.

Expected announcement: Expected to be announced on 18th May 2019. Last two years it has been announced 6 days after the final games of the Premier League.

Here’s the shortlist:

  • Eden Hazard
  • Anthony Knockaert
  • Fabian Schar
  • Andre Schurrle
  • Andros Townsend
  • Son Heung-min
  • Aaron Ramsey
  • Daniel Sturridge
  • Jean Michael Seri
  • PLUS ANY OUTSTANDING STRIKES IN MAY (possibly Vincent Kompany goal against Leicester)

Manager of the Season Award

The manager of the season award will be revealed soon after the Premier League season finishes.

Expected announcement: Expected to be announced on 14th May 2019. Last two years it has been announced 2 days after the final games of the Premier League.

Here’s the shortlist: 

  • Nuno Espirito Santo (Wolves)
  • Pep Guardiola (Man City)
  • Jurgen Klopp (LIverpool)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)

The award has predominantly gone to the managers to win the Premier League title with the exception of four managers.

The exceptions:

  • George Burley – Ipswich Town: Burley’s side finished in fifth place in their first season since promotion from first division in the previous season.
  • Harry Redknapp  – Tottenham (2009/10): Redknapp achieved fourth place with Spurs which was their highest position in twenty years.
  • Alan Pardew – Newcastle (2001/12): Pardew achieved ninth place with the Magpie which was their highest position in nine years.
  • Tony Pulis – Crystal Palace (2013/14): Pulis guided Palace from bottom the table from match-week 12 to finish 11th place in the Premier League.
You might also like