Reporting Sports in a refreshing style

FIFA U-17 women W/Cup cup: Flamingoes to face Germany, Chile


The Nations U-17 Women side the Flamigoes will battle Germany, Chile and New Zealand at the FIFA world cup in India.  The draw which was held today in Zurich placed the Flamingoes in Group B where they hope to over the challenges of group opponents to emerge from the group.

Qualified teams have been drawn in four groups of four teams each with host country India pitched against soccer powerhouse Brazil, USA and second African Representatives Morocco.

Tanzania who are the third Africa representatives have been drawn in Group D where they face Japan, Canada and France. Group C has defending champions Spain, Colombia, Mexico and China.

The country is slated to host the tournament from October 11 to 30 across three venues.

A total of 16 teams across four groups will be participating in the tournament.

Matches of the quadrennial event will take place in Bhubaneshwar, Goa and Navi Mumbai.

Draw for the fifa U-17 women World cup in Zurich

India will begin their campaign against the USA on October 11 (Tuesday) at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar. Their second match will be against Morocco on October 14 (Friday) at the same venue. The home team’s last group stage match against Brazil will be on October 17 (Monday).

Defending champions Spain, who beat Mexico in the final of the 2018 edition, are placed in Group C along with Colombia, China, and Mexico.

READ ALSO India 2022: Flamingoes clinch ticket despite draw with Ethiopia

North Korea are the most successful team in the history of the tournament, having won the trophy in 2008 and 2016, while Japan, South Korea, and France have each won the title once.

Host Mollie Kmita presented the official draw and was joined by former US women’s national team player and FIFA women’s World Cup winner, Heather O’Reilly, former coach of the New Zealand national team, Ricki Herbert, as well as Jaime Yarza, FIFA’s director of tournaments, and Sarai Bareman, FIFA chief women’s football officer.

Group stage draw 

Group A: India, USA, Morocco, Brazil

Group B: Germany, Nigeria, New Zealand, Chile

Group C: Spain, Colombia, Mexico, China

Group D: Japan, Tanzania, Canada, France




You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.